Austrian Academy of Science (ÖAW)

The Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW) is Austria’s largest non-university research and science institution. Its statutory mission is to “promote science in every way”.

It was founded in 1847 as a learned society. Today the ÖAW has over 760 members and 1.800 employees dedicated to innovative basic research, interdisciplinary exchange of knowledge and the dissemination of new insights with the aim of contributing to progress in science and society as a whole.

The ÖAW operates 25 research institutes in the field of innovative basic research in the arts and humanities and the social and natural sciences.”

The Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW) manages the Austrian contribution to European fusion research. It acts as national entry point and beneficiary of the EUROfusion Grant Agreement. Its Fusion Research Unit, known as “Fusion@ÖAW”, comprises three universities: Technische Universität Wien, Technische Universität Graz, and Universität Innsbruck and two institutes: Research Studios Austria Forschungsgesellschaft and Erich Schmid Institute of Materials Science.”

About 45 people work in the Austrian Fusion Research Unit: two are involved in administration and coordination of research projects, but the majority are scientists, post-docs and PhD candidates.

Fusion@ÖAW is responsible for managing the participation of the Austrian Fusion Research Unit in the EUROfusion Joint Programme Co-fund Action and for informing stakeholders about the current status of ITER construction.

The largest part of Austrian fusion research is performed at university institutes. The education and training of young researchers is therefore the focus of the Austrian Fusion Research Programme. Major topics are measurements and experiments in medium-size tokamaks, plasma-wall interaction, modelling and simulation of plasma phenomena in tokamaks and stellarators, materials science, superconductors for fusion application and socio-economic studies on future energy scenarios.

News from this member: